Karin Röding

Chair of the Board and Chair of the investment committee
Former Director General, Swedish Council for Higher Education

Katarina Leppänen

Vice-Chair of the Board and Chair of the research committee
Professor of History of Ideas/Intellectual History, University of Gothenburg

Lars-Erik Edlund

Board member
Professor of Nordic Languages, Umeå University

Anders Ljunggren

Board member
Former Ambassador

Anna Malm Bernsten

Board member and member of the investment committee
Senior Consultant

Ilkka Henrik Mäkinen

Board member
Professor of Sociology, Uppsala University

Stefan Nyström

Board member and member of the investment committee
Head of Department, Swedish Environmental Protection Agency

Linda Ryan Bengtsson

Board member
Assistant Professor of Media and Communication Studies, Karlstad University

Göran von Sydow

Board member and member of the research committee
Director, SIEPS (The Swedish Institute for European Policy Studies)

Appointment of the Board

The Board is appointed by the Government (two members) and by the Board itself (seven members). The proposal for members of the Board (six members) is submitted by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, the higher education institutions and the heads of the following Swedish agencies: the Swedish Research Council; the Research Council for Health, Working Life and Welfare (Forte); the Research Council for the Environment, Agricultural Sciences and Spatial Planning (Formas); and Sweden’s Innovation Agency (Vinnova). One member is proposed by the Board itself.

The mandate period is from 1st July 2022 until 30th June 2025.